Introduction

DavidWeber

Hi All

My wife and I have decided now is the time to start making steps towards our (hopeful) move to Australia.

We haven't made any progress yet, but in the last few days we have contacted migration agents for quotes.

Having seen the quotes though, I'm leaning towards sorting out the visa (189) myself, any thoughts with regards to this?

I am 25 and she is 24, I work as a senior software engineer and she is an assistant accountant.

We both have university degrees, are native English speakers and I have British citizenship, not sure if that helps.

We're still deciding on which city we would prefer, for me it's more about where I can get a good job, ideally a city with a more moderate climate.

That's all my thoughts for now, this community seems hugely helpful :ilikeit: so expect to see me around more and more as we progress through our application.

Regards,

David

Welcome David! Interesting - another new member with British citizenship also just posted to say hello. As a matter of interest, have you been to the UK and/or Aus before, and what led to your decision to choose which country to move to?

Hi David, welcome to our corner of the cyber world!

If you are looking for a more moderate climate, then I guess you would be looking at Melbourne.. great city.. it has to be.. we live here.. LOL!

There are many, many, folk on this forum that have done all of their visa application by themselves, HOWEVER, if you decide you want to go with an agent, please ask your question here on which agent to use, you will get plenty of referrals to great agents, especially for the fact that they come highly recommended. This would be a very wise decision, as there are plenty of fly by nights out there that will take your hard earned money and just disappear, after your first hefty payment!