Teacher and mechanic salaries

LizeP

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and my husband and I are thinking of making the move. I have so many questions about migrating but the biggest right now is definitely if we'll be able to maintain our current life style or will we have to scale down? He is a mechanic and I'm a math teacher. I've been trying to see what people in Oz in these jobs earn, but can't get a definitive answer. From what I gathered, teachers earn about 60k a year and mechanics about 50k. We dont have any kids yet and live quite comfortably right now. I tried to work out a budget, but I'm not sure if I'm doing it right. I assumed we'll get a combined income of around 9200 a month. After tax it'll be 5500,(this according to a tax calculator online).I assumed we'll pay about 1520 a month for a two bedroom place,150 for two phone contracts, 600 for the both of us for transport,1000 for groceries and another 100 for electricity. We'll probably want to get at least one car, but not sure if we'll be able to afford it from the start. Even with all these expenses we've only spent 3340 of our 5500.That doesn't seem realistic? Not sure if I'm missing any expenses either. I'm assuming the expenses we'll have for the first couple of months. So I'm not including any debt or luxuries.

$1,000 a month for two of you for groceries is insane! Maximum of $200 a week for two people for almost every luxury you could want. I know families of 2 adults and 2 kids who live on $100 to $150 a week for groceries (cooking from scratch).

Not sure on the other costs. You'll have to get used to calculating everything in weeks - not months. People get paid weekly or fortnightly mostly. Monthly is rare.

Depending which city you are in, rent would be a lot more than your budget.

Edited by Crisplet

Combined income of $110k for only two of you is plenty plenty of money to start with, much more than many new migrants have, so relax, you will be just fine.