Scary stats.... Re our SA schools....

Crossedover

My one daughter is due to start high school in 2015 so we went to the prospective parents evening....

The school in question is by far my first chose, not because I went there but because of its fantastic academic record. In the recent past one of the past pupils came first in South Africa so it's a great school.

The school can correctly boast a 100% pass rate for the last 20 years.... And in 2013 99.5% of their close to 200 gr 12's received a university acceptable pass.... Only one child received a diploma acceptable pass... When I graduated out of my class of about 100 girls... I would guess maybe 35 of us got matric exemptions / university acceptable passes....

While to many parents watching this presentation they will be wowing the school, and they do have good reason to be proud... That takes lots of hard work from the girls and their teachers and the supportive role of their parents.....BUT

An alarm went off in my head.... How is it possible for the entire grade to be passed at this high level....

It's a scary reality that the normal girls in my community have managed to do exceptionally well.... So what is out 35% pass rate actually.

The average number of A's achieved by each candidate at the school in question was 3+ (2013) I think I got one A .... A's were amazing to get back then.... And I got many high B's.... I would say 65 to 70% of my year never saw an A... And it was not in the dark ages either... Some of the teachers who taught me are still there!!!!!

For me this is scary! What will my girls education be worth by the time they leave high school????

• Like 1