Family day care....

Crossedover

I am a high school teacher that changed tac and opened a Playschool 7 years ago... I am very blessed that my Playschool has been very successful - I only say that so you can assume I won't do a bum job! Luckily I have some families who have come to my school who now live in Oz who can serve as references....

My question to parents of young kids ... Under 4

1. Is there a great need for such facilities as I am led to believe?

2. As a newbie to Os what would be the best way to find families who need this service?

Is there anybody out there who is running such a facility who is prepared to share the process with me?

Or are there and high school teachers that I can ask many questions to?

Thanks so much.... Anxious from the other side!

My two year old is at a great family day care around the corner. I can only speak for Sydney/NSW, so bear in mind over here many laws/rules/procedures differs from state to state. I am pretty certain in NSW you cant be a "independent" family day care, just advertising yourself. It all works via the council, for good reason and parents peace of mind. The council will put you into contact with the department and coordinator that deals with this and they will give you the list of hoops you will have to jump through before you can start. That will include checks to the property, your childcare education diplomas, police checks, etc. In the last year, the ratio has come down to 4 kids per day you can look after and the level of qualifications you need as an operator has gone up. We pay $77 per day (9-4pm) of which the council takes $7.

Ps. There is a great need and the council has a waiting list of parents looking to find spaces.

Thanks rozellem.... I do believe there is a PROCESS but I am not too put off by that... Here my school is unregistered and nobody cares, despite numerous efforts! The hours do seem much longer over there, understandably ..... Do they close for school holidays?