Looking for an accountant

geekrebel

Hi folks, I'm looking for an accountant to help with some tax and small business setup questions.

Ideally someone with experience across Australia and South Africa, as I'm doing consulting to South African firms. I'd like to set things up so that I have an Australian firm (sole trader) invoice the South African entity and then issue pay slips here.

Specific questions at the moment:

1. Can a sole trader issue pay slips? Or do I need to set up a company?

2. My last consulting contract paid to my South African bank account (it was simply less of a mission than doing a transfer and I could use some of the funds for expenses in ZA). Would this affect where I pay taxes? Or do I simply pay taxes based on where I declare the income?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Henk Kleynhans

Good day Geek Rebel

I am a cross border tax accountant and I provide advisory services only, I do not implement or execute IE the added value to that of the two independent firms in either country.

I like your suggestion but here with the issues:

1. You have not yet formally emigrated, I assume as you mentioned your last consulting fee was paid into an SA bank account. If you formally emigrate you can be paid aborad or in SA;

2. The structure you suggest is simple and probably tax effective but seriously contravene SA exchange control - you created a loop which is seriously frowned upon. It would be legal and easy to apply for SARB approval (without formal emigration) to have your SA client pay you abroad, but that is their application to SARB and I can assist them.

3. Your tax will be determined with reference to the treaty and your visa / permit. Assuming you have a PR and no permanent like office (but it's not that simple you need to carefully read the treaty) in SA, you will pay tax in Australia and as of 1 Jan or 1 Marc 2015 you will face an up to 15% withholding tax in SA.