Frenchy: New to the game

Frenchy

Hi There.

We are in our early thirties, I am a Dietician and a teacher and my husband a Electrical engineer. We have a seven month old daughter. We live in pretoria.

We love South africa, but recently decided that we do not want to bring up our child in such a unsafe environment. My husband also spend nearly all his time at work and we hope Australia can give us a less hectic life with more family time. Anybody out there that regretted the decision to move to Australia...please speak up now!!

I have been working my way through the forums. I think we can apply for the independant visa subclass 136, if that means anything to anybody. Am I right to assume that the process will take about a year to finalise? Do most people get a visa and then look for a job? Does it go quicker if you get a companty to sponsor you? How long does it take do become a citizen / permanent resident?

Where do we begin, can anybody advise on the documentation needed (birth certificates etc) Then maybe i can start on that.

I'm also confused about the medical....is it better to wait till you have a case officer appointed till you do this or when, because I read that some people waited so long for a CO that they had to redo their medical.

Sorry for the bombardment of Q's

But we need help and advice to make up our minds.

Hi Frenchy

Well, you sure do have a number of questions, some of which I'll try and help you with.

It would appear that you should be able to apply for a 136 visa (one of the Permanent Residence (PR) options), have you followed the checklist on the immi website?

The process is quite long, our application was submitted in May 2006 and we are hoping to get the thumbs up any day now. Some people have waited longer than this, although others have received an answer sooner, so you'd be wise not to get too inflexible with dates.