Unemployed Brisbane

Guest May

This post is for those professionals in finance should you be considering Qld.

I have over 20 years in finance in different roles in blue chip corporations and international banking institutions, I worked for the South African branch of a global engineering company that has a office in Brisbane, I have a degree and as a woman I think I am considered more flexible in terms of doing AP and clerical duties including reception work.

I have tried everything that people have suggested

-10 recruitment agencies

-following up with them regularly

-asked them for data capture upwards

-upskilled to MYOB accounting software

-weighed up CPA (its expensive and guarantees nothing)

-volunteered my services to get aussie experience

......now I am considering moving in spite of it being the middle of a school year but locked into lease (here is another lesson dont let them strongarm you into 12 month lease, I was desparate as we had outstayed our welcome). You are liable for rent and advertising costs until such time as the lease is up so in my case until January, that is a lot of money and missed job opportunities elsewhere.

tried applying from here to Sydney, Melbourne and Perth but you are told that you have to be on the ground.

Okay truth be told I am gainfully employed as a cleaner however I have a history of back problems so there isnt a long term future in housekeeping for me (and that isnt a lazy cop-out, I genuinely dont have enough cartilage between my lower vertebrae so when I throw out my back I am not mobile neck down), I do enough to cover my food bill which is 2-4 hours daily for 4 mornings, blessed with PR which pays my rental and it keeps me sane because I havent been to a client interview since before May and its paid exercise.