Teachers conduct and discipline

LadySnoo

Hi everyone,

I am a teacher in the foundation phase , still in SA . I get a lot of comments about how different teaching will be in australia becaus kids rule everything. I hear comments about the kids being similar to the UK where it is all about the, directing there own classroom. For example I hear you cannot tell a child they have lied and that was wrong , you must rather try and find out why and council them. ( now this is true for repeat offenders but sometimes kids just lie and need to be punished)

Now, I am not a nasty or cruel teacher and I have never raised my hand to child but I would be considered strict/ firm. I do not shout and scream the whole day but I ensure children respect me and I am very firm. I am worried that I will not fit into the education system if it is in fact the way others discribe it. I believe in a learner active classroom but i think the teacher should still be controlling the envirnment . I also believe in having systems and order in place so children know boundaries and learn respect.

I would like any teacher or parents to comment about the discipline in schools. Is it as others have discibed ? Do the children rule in the classroom?

Sjoe, LadySnoo think this is relevant in some SA schools where the kids rule and the teacher's are left with their hands tied...

I am not a teacher and not in Oz yet, but I also believe in discipline and respect and my daughter is being taught this at home. I believe that if you dont start at home the teachers will not stand a change.

Personally I think more teacher like you are needed in SA and from the sounds of it also in Oz.

Good luck on your journey, hope you will be able to fit in and be accepted and appreciated for the amazing teacher / person you are.

• Like 1

Well, I can only speak from my vast experience in the Australian system - I have now been teaching here for 1 1/2 weeks. :D