Investing capital in property or super or both?

Rhino1

When liquidating all our assets and investments, and bringing it over to Australia, I was wondering if I should not invest it all into property or whether I should partly invest it in super.

My worry though is whether the property market is currently over inflated and may drop, which will be a loss for me. If it continues to grow, so will my investment.

Another concern though is that I would reach 40 by the time we make the move and I would only effectively have 25 years or so left to safe up a retirement nest egg in super.

On the other hand property is expensive though and I would rather give a bigger deposit and pay less interest, and reduced bond installments...

Any thoughts on this, as I am sure this is a consideration for most when coming over?

Sjoe, good questions. I can't answer any, but would like to follow your post and the answers you receive.

Good luck.

• Like 1

I'm not an expert, or an investment guru, but personally I would invest in property 10 times over before I invest in super.

Super to me, is almost like a "nice to have" but I don't want to bank on it in case some fool makes the wrong decision with my money, or the government makes sone stupid law. Happy to let my employer pay their 9% (soon to increase) into it and see how it looks when I retire, but the real retirement plan will be investments that I have more control over.

With property at least you have a choice of where you you invest, you can free it up, do it up, sell it, etc. Of course things can go wrong, but I prefer the odds.

Call it a simplistic view, but hey.

• Like 3

Hansaplease is right, there are already murmurings about super and all it would take is for the redhead to start taxing our super to get some cash so they can get the budget back into surplus.....they are already going to slug us with extra taxes.