Sim Cards in South Africa

HAM84

Hallo everyone,

My wife and I are travelling back to SA in a few weeks time for a holiday and I was wondering if anyone knows about getting a sim card at the airport?

Last time we were there they wanted proof of South African address and as I am a permanent resident of Australia, I don't have that.

Any answers would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Hannes

Last time I was there was 2009. I went to Pep stores and bought one for R2 (I kid you not) and then bought a vodakom charge for whatever and activated it all - was online in about 30 mins ... The only thing they wanted to see at the time was the silly coin. :)

Things MAY have changed.

Edited by OubaasDik

Yes, there is now a thing called RICA - The Regulation of Interception of Communications and Provision of communication-Related Information Act :whome:

Maybe you could get more into info here

http://www.gds.co.za/?page=rica_info

Edited by wendym

Yes, there is now a thing called RICA - The Regulation of Interception of Communications and Provision of communication-Related Information Act :whome:

Maybe you could get more into info here

http://www.gds.co.za/?page=rica_info

Funny how we scrapped the old Nat laws and everyone had almost unlimited freedom of speech and now we have laws that the Nats would have envied .... Ah, the black Nats, except more corrupt and way more useless.

But he wasn't asking for a rant .....

• Like 3

Gaan praat jou :censored: op n ander plek. Ek vra net oor n sim kaart nie jou politieke opinie nie.

Gaan praat jou :censored: op n ander plek. Ek vra net oor n sim kaart nie jou politieke opinie nie.

I want to reply but I'm speechless......

Strange - I did say he wasn't asking for a rant - oh well .....