Just wondering......will the colour of my skin matter.....

Usha

Just need to put what I'm thinking out there...........(and no I don't have a chip on my shoulder........I'm just sharing my feelings)

Attempting to move my family to Australia was my idea. The reason we chose the destination was because i spent some time studying there in 97, and I was happy and felt comfortable and safe there...But what if it's changed. I was a foreign student back then, and this time I'm a foreigner wanting to make a permanent home out there. Were people friendly to me back then because i was just a visitor and will the feelings now change as I want to now stick around forever???

I guess having finally been granted the visa, one's mind starts to think about all the scenarios and it makes you question your intentions even more.

I am South African, my ancestors may have come from India and I therefore look Indian BUT I AM a South African. And while the outside world looks at SA as a country where racism is rife, no one in SA has ever asked me or any of the generations before me "Where you're from and when are you going back?" We are such a mixed pot of people in this country that we don't 2nd glance any race because we just assume they're local.......I wear a red dot on my forehead because I am married.......no matter what race you are in South Africa, you know the significance of the dot....AND with that red mark on my head I'm still a local....

I'm afraid that moving away from my mixed pot I am going to be an outsider forever. I dont want people to just assume that i am from India..because I'm not! Yeah sure i am going to be a foreigner in a new country but I'm afriad of being given the wrong label, and I'm also afraid of how long that label is going to stick? At some point I just want to be a local down under (without having to compromise my culture)........and I'm wondering if that will happen as easily as it happens out here.