Greetings!

mountainman

Hi all

Just thought I'd say hi. This site is a wonderful knowledge resource and the energy from people on the forum is great for the jittery people like me waiting to take the plunge :)

The family is myself, wife and 2 boys, aged 5 and 6. Based in Cape Town, We're aiming for Sydney or Melbourne, I'm a software developer and this seems like the best places for my line of work.

We obtained a PR 175 visa in October 2012 and I'm applying for jobs remotely in the hope that something comes along. Have applied for a few on seek with no response but am starting in earnest for the new year. I've booked a one way ticket for myself to Sydney via IOM for early April in case I haven't found anything remotely by then, Family to follow in late May once I've got a job and rented a place, but it's going to be tight as they have to enter before the 6th of June, so I am hoping it's not going to take 8 weeks! :wacko:

It's really stepping out of my comfort zone to resign a good job and go but we've been planning this for years so nothing ventured nothing gained!

Cheers

Bernard

• Like 3

Welcome Bernard and congrats on the good news. Exciting times indeed :)

I'm also in CT and also headed to Sydney - but not as soon as you are. As a matter of interest, could you share some more of your story, like where you're from, why you're leaving, how you decided on Aus, what you're expecting from your live down under, and so on.

Looking forward to following your journey!

Wow, that was quick, thanks for the welcome Mistermoose!

We've lived in Cape Town most of our lives. Both me and my wife have lived overseas for short periods before we met but have enjoyed Cape Town tremendously. It's a lovely place with lovely people but it was only once we had kids that we started thinking of leaving as we took a longer term view of the country as a whole.