Trying to get your South African Wiremen's licence approved by Trade Recognition Australia

Lavender

My husband's second application to get a licence in Australia as a "Electric Fitter" has not been granted. He is now really so switched off. It is hard to understand how they do the assessment. In South Africa he did installations of weighbridges at different mills, tipplers to tip the train trucks coming into the mill, he actually did the whole project on his own and with all the electric and electronic parts of the project. He did wiring of huge switchboards, ordinary house wiring and many more !!!!!!!! Now he feels as if he is just a no good person! This is one thing that we did not expect to find in Aus. Try and get a job and you will find that it is not so easy as you thought. Yes and every time you do an application it costs $300!

I have heard it is very difficult to get your license in Queensland.

Another member told me he went to South Australia and then converted it in Queensland.

Hope you come right.

Hi Lavender

just remember that it is not a wiremans license but an electrical license, so perhaps he is focusing on the wiring aspect rather than the rest. I'm assuming that he is applying for his Australian recognised trade certificate through TRA. I would suggest you search this forum or google for how to get your Australian recognised trade certificate and you will find that some people have posted really valuable tips, particularly on the British Expats forum.

The ARTC application through TRA is the same no matter what part of Australia you are in, however once you have an ARTC you then have to apply for an electrical license via the state you live in( hopefully there will be a nationalised system by next year) andif you move to another state you just apply for mutual recognition.