New to the Forum

TiaanAndLeigh

Hi there.

My name is Leigh, and my husband Tiaan and I are seriously considering making the move to Australia. In fact, it is pretty much a given that we will be going. However, I am feeling so overwhelmed by all the things that lie ahead that I am struggling to make a start and get the ball rolling. I have done the Visa wizard on www.immi.gov.au and it looks like our best option will be to go the skillselect route. I am an architect and my husband is in IT, so we are both on the skills list, but I have so many questions! I think the biggest one is how to go about finding work once the visa process is in motion. The last thing I want to do is arrive in Aus without a job! We are intent on starting the ball rolling as soon as possible and I am in the process of gathering the necessary documentation, and I look forward to picking peoples brains and sharing all the valuable advice that the forum has to offer!

• Like 2

Welcome Tiaan and Leigh.

I'm sure the rest will welcome you sometime, but it's a long weekend here and they're probably all off doing something.

Remember most of the people here went through the same process - it's difficult and long, but it's not impossible.

Hi Leigh and Tiaan, and welcome to the forum. It sounds like you have great skills for entry, and I'm sure you will find lots of great info on here :)

Welcome to the fourm Tiaan and Leigh, you will get plenty of advice and support on this forum.

Just take one step at a time. All the very best with your plans.

Hi Tiaan and Leigh

The visa process changed on the 1 July 2012 and unless you have a sponsor in Australia your only route is the EOI and skills select.

My first suggestion would be to decide on who's skills you are going to apply for the visa. Not sure how old you are but it can make a difference in points. You may want to consult with one of the agents on the forum so that you make the best choice.