8. You can pay your tuition fees by holding up a sign

at a traffic light

9. The petrol in your tank may be worth more than

your car

10. More people vote in a local reality TV show than

in a local election

11. People have the most wonderful names: Christmas,

Goodwill, Pretty, Wednesday, Blessing, Brilliant, Gift,

Precious, Innocence, Samsung and Airtime.

12. “Now now” can mean anything from a minute to a month!

13. You continue to wait after a traffic light has turned to

green to make way for taxis travelling in the opposite

direction.

14. Travelling at 120 km/h you’re the slowest vehicle on the

highway

15. You’re genuinely and pleasantly surprised whenever you

find your car parked where you left it.

16. A bullet train is being introduced but we can’t fix

potholes

17. The last time you visited the coast you paid more in

speeding fines and toll fees than you did for the entire

holiday

18. You paint your cars registration on the roof

19. Half your mail is guaranteed to reach its destination

20. You have to take your own linen with you if you are

admitted to a government hospital

21. You dial a toll free number and nobody answers

22. You have to prove that you don’t need a loan to get one

23. Prisoners go on strike.

24. You don’t stop at a red traffic light, in case somebody

hijacks your car.

25. You consider it a good month if you only get mugged

once.

26. Rwandan refugees start leaving the country because the

crime rate is too high.

27. When 2 Afrikaans TV programs are separated by a Xhosa

announcement of the following Afrikaans program, and a

Pedi ad.

28. The employees DANCE in front of the building to show

how unhappy they are.

29. The SABC advertises and shows highlights of the

program you just finished viewing.

30. You get cold easily. Anything below 16 degrees Celsius

is Arctic weather.

31. You call a bathing suit a “swimming costume”.

32. You stop at robots, not traffic lights.

33. You know what Rooibos Tea is, even if you’ve never had

any.

34. You can sing your national anthem in four languages, and

you have no idea what it means in any of them.

35. You know someone who knows someone who has met

Nelson Mandela.

36. You go to “braais” (barbecues) regularly, where you eat

boerewors (long meaty sausage-type thing) and swim,

sometimes simultaneously.

37. You have a gear lock for your car.

38. You’ve never seen snow in real life.

39. You know that there’s nothing to do in the Free State.

• Like 7

For number 11, we had a maid / helper / house worker in the 60's who rejoiced in the name of Ignorance ..... Emphasis on the second syllable.

When the definition of a split second is the the time that it takes between the robot changing green and the taxi behind you hooting.

no38. Unless of course you live/lived in Newcastle KZN, then you got this opportunity every 10 years!

America has a 50c

You know you're a South African when you go to the bank and the "service consultant" is so stupid that they sit listening to the fax machine send/acknowledgement tone for about 5 minutes when they've dialled the wrong number before realising it is a FRICKEN FAX MACHINE TONE.

After our conclusion of our last metro police intake project, I wrote down all the funny names as I came across them (this is from a database of 60 000 applications). Sometimes I worked very late into the night, and I was laughing so hard I was afraid that I woke the kids....

Action

Advice

Agreement

Amen

Assegai

Athol

Answer

Advance

Advocate

Alone

America

Avoid

Basement

Bigboy

Brain

Bob Martin

Breeze

Brucelee

Canon

Cereal

Chicken

Chocolate

Clearance

Climate

Combine

Coment No-Cry

Comet

Coolcat

Coolio

Crossword

Cry

Cuthberts

Dankie

Decision

Difference

Director

Elvis Cry

Energy

Enter

Erens

Fight

Flashlight

France

Geniet Enjoy

Geweer

Goodenough

Gospel

Griffels

Helper

Hide

Horing

Isolate

Jelly

Job

Johnwalker

Justice

Jy

Kaalkop

Kingdom

King Lancelot

Lastborn

Laundry

Learners

Letters

Lieutenant

Life

Liver

Love-Again

Loveboy

Loverman

Lucky Sunday

Machine Search

Magnificent

My Son Donald

No-matter

Obvious

Orphan

Pardon

Peacemaker

Pelican

Permission

Pikinini

Pilot

Pimpi

Potlaki

Praisegod

Prosper

Provision

Question

Ready

Remember

Remind

Rhyme

Riche Man

Scremer

Service

Shakespear

Sheelbooi

Soccer

Soldier

Sprinkan

Stadig Piet

Stranger

Superman

Surgeon

Sweetname

Sympathetic

Sympathy

Taaibos

Treasure

Tronics

Truck

Verynice

Vis

Washington

Watermond

Wealth

Witness

Yoghurt

was chatting to my mom last nighta nd one of there staff is called Matric Exemption. So glad I gave my kids "normal" names.

Indicators are for showing what you've just done not what you are about to do.

I think most people think indicators are part of the optional extras one buys when buying a car, so never use them as they figure they don't work.

You guys have the indicator thing all wrong! Indicators are there to allow one to break whichever road rule one feels should not apply to one at any given time, e.g.

*When there is a traffic jam, switching on hazard lights permits one to drive in the emergency lane so that one can get wherever one wants to, preventing emergency vehicles from getting access to the accident scene.

*When one wants to drop someone off or pick someone up, one uses hazard lights to stop on a corner or across a street entrance, preventing any traffic from entering or leaving a street.

*When one is special (any person in government) hazard lights permits one to fly down the highways at over 160km per hour.

*When one wants to do anything normally deemed illegal on the roads one will be excused if one uses hazard lights.

And please remember that putting on one's hazards when one's vehicle is stationary drains the battery and should be avoided at all costs...especially at night on a highway or dimly lit road!

After our conclusion of our last metro police intake project, I wrote down all the funny names as I came across them (this is from a database of 60 000 applications). Sometimes I worked very late into the night, and I was laughing so hard I was afraid that I woke the kids....

Action

Advice

Agreement

Amen

Assegai

Athol

Answer

Advance

Advocate

Alone

America

Avoid