Advice needed - Mackay and Whitsundays area

Southern Right

Hi All

We are travelling up to the Mackay/Whitsundays area next week are are hoping to make contact with anyone living up there. We have a six year old son and need advice on finding jobs, accommodation etc. My hubby is a qualified Horticulturist but is prepared to do anything and I'm an AUSTSWIM qualified swimming teacher.

We need a home to rent (we have a labrador), and we would prefer a farm style place as we are not really city people, but we are not fussy. We would love to make contact with anyone living there as a friendly face would be great right now.

Nilo lives in the Whitsundays. Pm her.

Nilo has ownership of a boat going out of the Whitsunday Islands from a place called Airlie Beach, about 3 hours drive north of Mackay.

Airlie Beach is based on tourism, with heaps of backpackers coming through, especially this time of the year when it's not humid and you can swim in the sea (no dangerous jellyfish around), but in the summertime, the place is slower.

Mackay is based more on the sugar industry, with a number of mines in the district also.

Both are great places to live and Mackay has quite a South African community from what I understand.

Hi there we lived in Cannonvale for abouyt 3 yrs before moving to Sydney. I had friends in McKay from South Africa who ran their own lawn moving business so if you have money for that sort of thing it could work out for you as for teaching swimming there is a very good swimming school in McKay I can remember the teachers name but very well known she taught my daughter at times they used to travel to Mckay for training lessons before state trails so maybe contact them hope this helps a little bit I loved it there but we wanted to come to Sydney

hi southern right