What is the job situation like in Adelaide?

celeste

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and have just learned that in order to ensure a successful visa application i either have to invest $100 000 with the Aus government or apply for a different visa - provisional visa which will mean we will have to live in South Australia for two years before being able to join my sister on the Gold Coast. What a pity!

But one concern is that jobs don't seem to be in that great abundance in Adelaide especially in our fields - i'm a print journalist and my husband's a graphic designer. Can anyone inform whether there are any/many newspaper or magazine publishers in this town and whether there are many advertising agencies?

Also, we would ultimately be prepared to do anything to get on our feet - are arbitrary jobs as easy to come by in Adelaide as they are elswhere in oz such as brisbance? ie. working as store assistances, bank clerks etc. etc. My sister who lived in the UK for several years says jobs are in abundant supply on the Gold Coast as much as they are in the UK.

I seem to have read somewhere that jobs are more scarce in Adelaide than elsewhere and this seems true when I visit the website seek.com.au esp in our professions. Also it's worrying to hear that many young people leave this town/city as this could indicate (may be wrong tho) that they are leaving for better job prospects elswhere.

Please help anyone as the idea of going to Adelaide has put some doubts in our minds about what to do next ie. sell our house to raise the $100 000 and go with the other visa which would allow us to stay anywhere immediately. However, I'm not sure whether we'd have to sell up at the start of the application or towards the end. I suppose that's a question for the immigration consultants.

Anyway thanks to anyone who can help - it would be much appreciate esp on the job situation down there as we want to start moving with the process but need to make sure we do the right thing