Webhosting and Diginet service providers is Australia

HadEnoughofJuju

Hi All

I was wondering if there are any of you forumites out there that are in the web hosting/web development business.

I am in IT, at the moment as a network administrator but deep down in my heart I am actually a web designer/developer. I was wondering what options there are for people who want to start a web hosting/design company.

1. What would the Australian equivalent be to Telkom's diginet lines?

2. Who is the registering authority for .com.au domains?

3. What is the average cost of having a website designed and hosted in Australia?

4. Are there any feasible alternatives to diginet with fixed IP offerings?

Any help on this would be appreciated! I have done some searching on Google but am completely dazed and confused as to what the different options are and who offers what.

Hi,

Cant answer all the questions but here is a start

Firstly the last mile to the units is not owned by a telkom type company, it is registered to a service provider and changed as required, the place we moved into was registered to Telstra and we went with OPTUS, they first had to re-register the line into our unit off telstra and into their name, then hook us up (took 7 working days from application to switched on)

There are a ton of service providers, Telstra is the biggest but they require credit history and your SA credit history means jack here, Optus was happy to deliver and install based on a phone application only so we went with them

I deal with a lot of different companies in my job so i can say with confidence that diginet is dead, long live ADSL (Or cable if it is available)

The quality of even home ADSL here is better than Diginet in SA, like ridiculously so