Proof of employment

stevie_za

Hallo everybody

My wife and I decided to make the big move to Australia! We lived in the UK for about five years and when we came back it was impossible to adjust back to the SA lifestyle.

I have been working as a Carpenter since 2000 but never went to a college, so I do not have a carpentry diploma. Apparently if I can prove that I have been doing this for five years or longer the aussies would accept that as in-job training, NOW this is where my problem lies, I can get a letter from my previous employer but I do not have any payslips as I was contracting for him on a full time basis. I also do not have proof of tax returns etc, not because I did not pay any, but because I was very foolish and threw away all my paper work when we moved back to SA. ( we have been back for a year and I have been working for myself, so I can prove this part at least)

Both me and my wife also have degrees from the University of pretoria (can that help?)

Any suggestions of what I can or should do?

Thank You

Stephen

Edited by stevie_za

Hi Stephen

They don't want to see payslips,they want what they call "a letter of duties and service"get your formal empoyer to write a letter stating you full names,the time you worked for him and all you duties,if you worked with hand tools write it down ,they want to see exactly if the carpentry work you did correspond with what carpenters do here.use this as a idea:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SKILL LEVEL

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ASSOCIATED OCCUPATIONS

order and select timbers and materials, and prepare layouts

cut materials, and assemble or nail, cut and shape parts

erect frameworks and roof framing, lay sub-flooring and floorboards and verify trueness of structures

nail fascia panels, sheath roofs and fit exterior wall cladding, door and window frames