Help!

Tracyw

Hi there,

We are 32 & 33 from PE with 2 small children.

I have a Degree in Marketing and Sales & 10 years experience in Automotive with some years at senior manager positions at huge organisations. My husband has no formal education (not even Matric) but has successfully run his own business for the last 10 years - the latest venture for the last 3 years being a Paving Business (domestic & Commercial).

We have applied for our visa's via an immigration consultant but fall into the category - Applications from people who are nominated by a State/Territory government whose nominated occupation is not listed on the Critical Skills List. We are told by the agent that our visa's will only come through ina proximately 3 years and obviously we are worried that the requirements might change and we get kicked out.

Any advice, any-one? We feel like we have been doing this forever and are making no steps forward.

THX

TracyW

3 years is a long time. But unless you go on a visit and try procure a job where you can get ENS then I dont see much else you can do.

If it was me being told I have a 3 year wait, I'd look at NZ and also look at what degree I could do that would get me onto the SOL or CSL, that way at least in 3 years I'd have a much stronger chance if requirements did change.

Sorry, its a tough position to be in.

We lodged our 175 in October last year. My husband is a Plumber and was previously on the MODL list which has now been scrapped. He is still on the SOL atleast but not on the CSL. So yes, our agents also told us that we can only expect our visa to be granted by 2012. Which is not good as our IELTS would have expired by then and who knows what else will have changed by then.