Liesl24: Introductions - also starting "the process"

Liesl24

Hi to everyone in the forum! Glad to be here and looking forward to chatting with you all.

I am 31 and married to Paul (34). At the moment we have no kids (but we consider our 2 jack russells to be our "babies"), but would like to start a family asap. We have been talking about immigrating to Oz for a while now, and now with the prospects of starting a family, would like to make the move in about 2-3 years depending on how things work out.

We are applying for a skilled independent visa (136) since I am a chemical engineer. Initially we wanted to use Network Migration as an agent, but after reading a couple of posts on this site, decided to do it alone and hopefully save R20k in service fees! So already this site has proved to be extremely useful!

Regards

Liesl

We are applying for a skilled independent visa (136) since I am a chemical engineer. Initially we wanted to use Network Migration as an agent, but after reading a couple of posts on this site, decided to do it alone and hopefully save R20k in service fees! So already this site has proved to be extremely useful!

Hi Liesl

Where did you study? I studied ChemEng at Stellenbosch Uni. Regarding your career in Australia, you should contact Prof. Jannie van Deventer at Uni of Melbourne, he's originally from Stellenbosch and left just before I started my studies there. www.chemeng.unimelb.edu.au/people/staff/vandeventer.html Quite an impressive guy, he's got 3 doctorate degrees, 2 in engineering an 1 in business economics! :ilikeit::ilikeit::D Maybe he would be a good contact, I dunno, but you never know...

I went into finance straight after my studies, but I know chemical engineers do very well in Australia.

Cheers

Charl

Hi

Welcome to the forum. We feel the same way about our two babies (a jack russell and a jack russell cross spaniel), they will be arriving in Perth in a month. :ilikeit: