Nadine

n/a

Hi everyone

I have been "browsing" the site for a while, but thought that it was time to register since we are FINALLY getting the ball rolling.

First up: Thanks to everybody contributing their valuable information on this site. I am convinced that you make it a much easier process for a lot of people.

We have 1 son (18 months old) and absolutely no family in Oz. We have a few friends over there though. We are thinking of settling (eventually) in Melbourne.

Would anybody be able to offer some advice? I am a Java developer with 6 years experience, but no degree (just a few industry certs). I am busy completing the ACS Diploma in IT, and plan to finish in June. My problem, is that I am reaching 30 SOON, and think that the 5 extra points might be useful. I also don't know what effect the changes in June will have on my application. So I am contemplating whether I should TRY for a skills assessment before completing the Diploma, and risk the money (not sure if there's any other risks), or just hang tight and hope for the best. Any ideas?

Thanks again!!

Hi Nadine

Welcome to the forum

All the best and Enjoy

Regards

S

Hi Nadine,

DO YOUR ASSESSMENT - even if jou apply offshore or onshore - it is one of the criterias to do your assessment. No need to have a dimploma or degree. I did my RPL / Assessment @ ACS (Australian Computer Society) and they approved AND nominated me a Systems qualification. I had 8 years of skills only. No certificate / diploma / degree whatsover.

I can e-mail you all the correct forms and I am willing to mail you my detailed skills assessment in order to "speed up" your process.

You are welcome to pm me with your details if you are interested.

More importantly - GOOD LUCK AND GROW ALOT OF PATIENCE !!!!

E

Welcome Nadine.