Anyone in HR?

qfinger

Hi,

Anyone in HR that came across and work in HR here? I'm looking for pointers on what to do to get my expereince and qualifications updated so that it is more acceptable for HR positions in Aus?

Thanks

Hi,

Start here:

www.ahri.com.au

In terms of General Aus HR you will need to read up on:

1. The Fair Work Act.

2. National Employment Standards.

3. OHS - OHS is MUCH more important in Aus than in SA...

Which field of HR are you in?

Hi,

Start here:

www.ahri.com.au

In terms of General Aus HR you will need to read up on:

1. The Fair Work Act.

2. National Employment Standards.

3. OHS - OHS is MUCH more important in Aus than in SA...

Which field of HR are you in?

Hi there,

Many thanks for your reply. I am a member of the AHRI (which is at least a start!). I have 16 years' experience in generalits and strategic HR in especially the financial sector.

Are you working in HR at the moment, and if so, in which field? I have found that the recruiters are very quick to dismiss my application due to my lack of experience in the Australian market as well as the fact that I have not worked with the relevant legislation yet. Have you also found this and how do I get around this? Have you completed any Aus-specific courses that you can recommend and that would typically be advantageous in seeking HR employment in Aus?

Many thanks

Hi there,

I’m not in HR, but I dabbled in the idea of making a career change last year, so did quite a bit of research. In the end I decided against it when the GFC hit (a few reasons) but I did find out a bit in my travels.