Exasperated IT Person

ShArK-NoW

Hi All

I am realising that I will have a challenge regarding my skills assessment. I have a BA degree in Psychology and Criminology. From here I have ventured into IT. I have the normal stuff like MCSE NT4, VCP, ITIL foundation but no formal degree with a Major IT subject. I started with my career in 1998 as a normal server engineer and left IT as a technical leader for my team to venture into a private venture for two years. Here I remained responsible for all IT tasks but it was on a small scale. I was also responsible to reconcile the bank and cashbooks. I started with IT in 2004 again as a full time employed consultant and today I am the line manager for all the servers (1300+) across South Africa. I do currently work for a ICT company with a international footprint, but they do not have offices in Australia. My solid work experience is 6 years solid and close to 10 years including my other careers.

Most of my exposure was on servers, and more so on a Microsoft platform. I understand that if you have any degree that is not ICT related you need to complete the ACS RPL assessment and have 6 years experience. I have looked at the RPL route but must admit that my exposure does not nearly cover most of the 14 categories specified. Suddenly I feel like a unskilled person!!!

I am 38 currently and will be turning 39 next year. We would like to enter AU with a 136 Visa.

Any suggestions or help for a shark out of water?

Regards

Shark-Now

Hi Shark-Now,

One of our other members, G72, also went through a thousand loops 'n hoops getting recognition of prior learning without a formal IT degree. He is on route to Australia and should be arriving sometime in Jan. I know him personally, so if you like, I can ask him to contact you to tell you what he did?

The other option you can consider is trying to find a sponsor and coming in on a 457 instead? A degree isn't required in these instances - just proof of experience.

Hope it works out!