..going to Melbourne...

malJohann

Hi, my name is Johann and I'm a Senior Analyst Programmer. Why does this statement make me feel like I'm in an AA meeting?

About a month and a half back a friend of mine in Sydney sent me an e-mail asking whether I'd be interested in a job in Australia with relocation on a 457 visa. I said I'd get back to him after I spoke to my wife. The next day I sent him my updated CV and four days later I got a phone call from my potential employer in Melbourne. Questions were asked, intent guaged and an appointment for a face-to-face in Cape Town was made for the following week.

Fast forward a month of stressful negotiation and I signed the contract exactly a month after my face-to-face interview. We're going to Melbourne and it only dawned on me that evening how big a mental shift it really is. We're keeping our home in SA, because we don't feel its the right time to sell. You see, we bought our first home right before the property crash, so we have a lot of debt to cover in a time when repo's are going by the dozen.

Obviously with some aspects the stress levels are high, like with leaving everything in SA behind but our clothes, personal effects and some photo's. We don't have children yet and no furniture of real value, so decided that a fresh start would be best. What lies ahead is getting rid of some loose debt, like our car that's still on HP, and packing everything we want to take into 94kg worth luggage, but I trust and believe everything is going to work out just fine.

Anyway, so here we are, with little time to pack and landing in Melbourne early November. Its certainly going to be an adventure!

Congratulations and may I say welcome to Melbourne! If there is anything we can do to make your journey easier, or any questions that we can answer for you, feel free to ask them here or to PM me.

Guest Durbanite
Hi, my name is Johann and I'm a Senior Analyst Programmer. Why does this statement make me feel like I'm in an AA meeting?