Beginning Application Process - HELP!

kiffoke

Hi Guys

Just returned from my first visit to Australia (Sydney and Melbourne) and it was love at first site. I'm planning to start the application process as soon as possible, but have a few questions that you guys might be able to assist with.

1. Planning to go in on a 136 visa type with myself as the primary applicant. I've got the 4 years experience as a business analyst. Has anyone gone through the accreditation process with the ACS as with a BCom and BCom Hons in IS? Was it easy? Any tips and tricks? I have checked out the DIMA website and it seems fairly easy, as does the ACS website.

2. Is the 136 the best visa to go in on with my qualifications and experience? I'd prefer the flexibility to be able to work anywhere over a sponsored visa.

3. Migration Agents - I've consulted one so far. Are they worth the AUD 4750 that they charge, or is the process of applying so well documented and understood that one can do it oneself? If not, can anyone recommend other agents that charge less? (From other posts in the forums, I'm not meaning to start a huge debate here!)

4. My wife qualified with a BSc Hons degree in logopedics (Audiology and Speech Pathology) from UCT in 2000 and has been practising as a Audiologist for the last 5 years. What does she need to do to practice in Australia? We have tried to contact the association in Australia but have had no response. Has anyone got any experience or personal recommendations? We have heard that she may need a Masters to work unsupervised, and will also need to pass an exam.

5. Any other general tips or advice?

Thanks very much for you support and assistance.

Kiffoke

Hi Kiffoke,