5 months in Perth

Guest puffaddy

Guest puffaddy

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to the forums so here is my intro. We (wife, son 3, daughter 1) arrived 2 Feb '09 from Garsfontein, Pretoria. We had done our LSD in Mar '07 and decided we'd like to stay in Perth's Northern suburbs. We both did skills assessments with the Australian Computer Society then submitted our PR application in Aug '07, which was granted in October '08.

Some random thoughts - YMMV:

- Don’t completely ignore your shipping consultant’s advice, but also listen to your heart. We got rid of lots of things we should have brought with us - ornaments, mower, trimmer, gas braai, Weber. If you’ve got the space in your container, pack it.

- Toyota Hiluxes are not cheaper here so if your's is paid off and you are happy with it, seriously consider bringing it with you.

- Familiarise yourself with how to rent a house here – we weren’t and it was quite a shock when we needed to find a place when our container arrived.

- Familiarise yourself best you can with the local job market – after 5 months here I still haven’t worked out how to get past the recruitment agents to get interviews with company decision makers. The state of the economy doesn’t help, but I am amazed at how difficult it is to find employment.

Pros:

- Relaxed lifestyle.

- Sense of safety.

- General respect for law and order.

- Beautiful, clean beaches.

- Lots of clean, well equipped parks.

- Plenty of good schools and play groups.

- Good infrastructure in general.

Cons:

- No jobs yet - I am a senior systems engineer (unix/linux/perl/c++) and my wife is a senior software developer (java/c++/sql/unix/oracle) – both ~14 years in IT. If anyone has any leads let me know!

- The walls of our near new rental seem to be paper thin – I can hear people’s conversations as they walk past.