home made bread recipe

AndreaL

Does anyone have a recipe or any secret tips to making the perfect home-made loaf?

I failed with a Stottie Cake( type of oven bottom bread made in Newcastle, U.K.) and just made one of those pre-packed Laucke crusty whites- which also looks miserable.

Thing is, my lovely husband is using reverse psychology on me " Oh, well, some people just can't make bread, you either have it or you don't".

Which is like waving a red flag to a bull as he knows I will not rest until I have produced the perfect loaf- after which I will beat him to death with it! :)

A fool proof foccacia and pizza recipe would be great too.......... oh and before I forget- does anyone know how to make naan bread, chapatis and samoosas?

andrea....you got too much time on your hands..i used to be a very big baker in south africa, but have given up here, the flour just doesnt seem right to me, too heavy or something..I know i sound wierd, maybe its just here in tassie, and we have such limited shops, so maybe you better off....I can think of about 100 better things to do than bake though....

but if you want someone to proof taste, give me a shout..you can post some to me...lol....I think im the only woman in the world who doesnt own a recipe book..i google anything i want to make...

have you ever made samoosas.. i made them a few times...FAR TOO MUCH WORK!!!!

hows the boerweors/biltong going?

Hi Lyall

Haven't got too much time but sometimes just feel the urge to get creative.

I go through phases where I only want to do one thing- like make sausage and boerewors- which I did and they were eaten, then I get bored and want to try something else.

I am going through a " comfort food" phase at the moment- home made sausage rolls for " Mr reverse psychology" to take for night shift, I will have a cheese and asparagus quiche.

Gardening was my thing last week- so the garden is looking good.