Drivers licence

kaztayli

I have heard that a person has to resit their drivers test once arriving in Oz. I am assuming that this applies to all RSA licence holders. Does anybody know if you have to sit your test again if you hold a UK licence?

The UK licence holders simply get their licence converted without doing the driving test. Lucky fish!! :blush:

I am not sure about everywhere in Australia,but here in Wagga Wagga New South Wales,all I had to do was to provide proof that I had been driving in New Zealand for 3 years or more,then they would simply just convert for me.Since I had only been in New Zealand for two and a half years ,I had to provide proof that I had been driving in RSA for the remainder of my total of three years needed-which was not a problem as I had my licence for many years in RSA...

I have submitted all my proof,and am now waiting to hear back.

A friend of mine who moved to Syney last week-lived in New Zealand for 6 years-they just converted his.

I'll wait and see what happens to mine,but I know they just converted his for him.

Hi Gavin,

If you get a straight a conversion, consider yourself lucky!

We came as NZ citizens to Sydney 3 years ago and had to do the theory test before being able to get our drivers licences.

South Africans who arrived in Sydney around the same time as we did, had to do the theory and the practical.

SAS

You've got to remember that when you get your diving licence, it's not actually an "Australian" licence.

For vehicles up to 13 tonnes, the States and Territories issue their own driving licences. It's only when you get into drving heavy stuff that the "Australian" licence kicks in and is granted by the Australian national gov't (although the States still issue it, over the counter, on behalf of the national gov't)

When you have an overseas driving licence, you have to check on what your particular State or Territory will allow or not allow.