457 conversion

WAGeo

It’s been in the making for a while but at long last my employer has confirmed that I will be transferred to from our SA operation to WA. I assume that I will be going on an employer sponsored 457. In fact I am flying to Perth 2nd week in December for my official look/see visit so should get more details from aussie side.

Question: I come in at 105 points for skilled immigration. the 457 is obviously only valid for a max (if i remember correctly) of 4 years. I have looked at a number of immigration websites, including immi and then some. I find all of this somewhat overwhelming (and not even to mention confusing). SO THE MILLION DOLLAR Q: WHICH WOULD BE THE BEST WAY TO CONVERT TO PERMANENT RESIDENCY FROM A 457 seeing that I fall short 15 pts on skilled migration.

My occupation is regionally in demand according to http://www.migration.wa.gov.au/.

Hi there

As far as I understand your employer can sponsor you for and ENS visa after 2 years or before 2 years in some cases if you have your skills assessed. You will also get an extra 5 points for 6 months work experience so after six months you would have 110. Depending where you settle you might be able to apply for a regional visa also. Lastly after 4 years you can be sponsored again or get a new sponsor so you won't have to go back after 4 years if you dont' have PR.

Good Luck

You may want to stick on your 457 for two years or so first. There are significant tax benefits in terms of rental and food allowances goverened by the "living away from home allowance". After two years say you've changed your mind and intend staying in Australia. From there it's alot easier to get residency.

We did not get the LAFHA... so check with your sponsoring employer (We had to choose: take the LAFHA & we don't sponsor your PR, or don't take the LAFHA & we'll sponsor your PR.....)

HI GUYS

HOW DOES ONE QUALIFY FOR THE LAFHA? BEEN IN OZ SINCE JAN 2006 ON A 457 VISA AND HAVE NOT HEARD OF THIS BEFORE?

IRON GUT