"Good" aspects or things you miss about South Africa

Jimmy

Hi all, not to sure whether this topic has been raised before, but non the less here goes. I'm sure we have many BAD things to say about S.A, and we can probably do a "WORST" aspects topic or things you do not miss about S.A, but how about some good stuff or things you would or do miss about S.A.

I'm not in Australia as yet, but these are the things I would certainly miss.

1. My family and friends

2. The food (bearing in mind I could be pleasantly surprised when I get there)

3. The weather (not as hot as OZ)

4. Not many creeper crawlies, especially dangerous ones. (flies, mozzies, spiders)

5. Big homes and properties (I believe it's small there)

6. I love "boerbulls' I believe they do not have them there, would miss my dog's terribly. (boebull, jack russell)

7. Having a helper.

8. Best and cheapest travel destination.

It's amazing the more I tried to think about what I'd missed or the good aspects, I was clouded by the bad rather than the good. Now I tried not to personalise as I'm sure there are personal aspects we'd miss, but let's give this topic a try (even though I found it difficult myself)

A couple of weekend ago I was driving through to Groblersdal from Johannesburg to watch my sons swim in a gala... The drive was lovely and I happened to be listening to Koos Kombuis (yes... I'm English and a total fan) and it suddenly struck me, for the first time, how much I will actually miss South Africa.

But then I realised that the things I would be missing are already missing...

The greatest impact Australia had on me was the "familiar" feeling - I was in the South Africa I grew up in. Not sure it's like that for everyone, but for me I suddenly felt "at home".

So, paradoxically (phew... big word like marshmellow and wheelbarrow), I'm actually going to Australia to get back the things I miss most about South Africa.

Norm

Wow, Jimmy, that's not going to be the longest list, but:

1> FAMILY !!!! Definately must be #1 (If not everyone's #1, the exceptions must REALLY have a good reason for leaving :whome: ) & yes, the few friends still there.

2> The veld & Loskopdam - loved boendoe-bashing to catch snakes & lizards (yes, one of those....)

PS. Norman, What did you think of Groblersdal ??? I grew up there, & the parents still live there too....

3> Being there to share the simple things that happens in the family, like getting together on the spur of the moment to braai; or going with my brother for a spin in his new bakkie (apparently his love & joy).

That's it, I think....

1.My parents

2.Woolworths

3.Game Reserves

4.Drakensberge

5.Home help

I agree with Norman - the things that I miss (discounting friends and family) have been missing for a long time and I missed them already, even when still in SA. This way, I can miss it much more comfortably from Syney than missing it whilst sitting in my house behind a six foot wall in Midrand!

To be honest, other than friends and family, there isn't anything that I miss. Maybe the fact that I was born in the UK helps?

Ajay

* my bestest friend, my parents

* dunno if its just cos we dont have a car here, but in PE it was quick and easy to get around

* woolworths's yummy stuff

* the "lack" of flies :blush:

* the meat - being able to get biltong and proper wors anywhere

* my "Saints" wines... Lol

* my domestic servant

* the size of houses/properties

* my own money... hahahaha that will change once i find a job

i have so much more, but i cant pinpoint them all... i remember them all when i lie in bed at night

Anyways, just wanted to throw in my 5 cents worth

Ciao

Caro

Braai wanneer jy wil.

My hond en twee katte.

Dis omtent dit.....

In no particular order....... :lol:

My & buurvrou se klets-kuiers op die sypaadjie voor ons huise na werk

'n Houtvuur - enige tyd, enige plek

Lui Sondagmiddag koffiekuiers by Centurion Waterfront saam met ons beste pĆŖlle

Spontaniteit - om sommer net 'n ding te doen op die ingewing vd oomblik sonder al die "red tape" & "liability requirements" & implikasies

Die reuk van Suid Afrika!

'n Afkoel in my eie swembad!

Die bosse - BOSVELD bosse!

Die sonsondergange & wild op ons plasie

Ons troeteldiere: (3 honde, 2 katte...)

Huishulp - en veral MY huishulp - ook as mens, nie net as bediende nie.

Goedkoop parkering - ENIGE parkering... :blush:

Soet kinders - ander mense s'n.... (net EEN "tantrum-vry" inkopiedag sal HEMELS wees!)

Pantomimes in die Staatsteater - die beste!!! Tobie Cronje op sy stukke en histeries snaaks!!

Die kultuur

Afrikaanse boeke & tydskrifte

My mense

Slangvelle (soos in biltong....)

Rascals

Steers Burger & Chips!!

hmmm my lys...

My familie

vakansies in Natures valley

Menlyn shopping

Nelly...My huishoudster en kinders se ander Ma

My arme hondjies wat ek moes los

Fritos....en

Die SPUR en Wimpy...hie hie hie

Mmmm, interesting topic!

Things I miss the most:

The Kruger National Park. I used to go there at least twice a week.

Feeling "at home" - not having to think before I do something, not having to tell myself constantly to speak English!

Old friends & family

My job (Sometimes)

Knowing the laws and ways of the country (to a certain extent!)

Siphiwe: my left and right hand

Elvis my gardener

Hearing Afrikaans being spoken in the shops, the streets and the theatres

Greetings,

Dreamy

1. My Boerboele : Olga & Lulu

2. My vriendin se deurmekaar kombuis & haar vetkoeke met appelkooskonfyt

3. My Ma se netjiese kombuis & haar boontjiesop

4. Die Hoƫveldse donderweer

5. Die Tarrentale, Kiewiete en die Hadidas

6. Om jou vriendin 9 uur in die oggend te bel. Nou slaap hulle nog in SA

Henriƫtte

Edited by Henriƫtte

* my "Saints" wines... Lol

Caro

Just had my St Anna earlier tonight. :ilikeit:

You shouldn't have a thread like this you know, if my tv was broken I might reconsider going....

Edited by JacoE

Hmmmm saint Anna, jou lucky vis.... kry net nie iets hier wat daarby kom nie... wel nie van die goedkoper wyne nie!!!