sasher Posted March 17, 2009 Report Share Posted March 17, 2009 Hi there, I don't know if anyone can help but I like to try and keep to a vegetarian lifestyle and I must say that I am finding this very difficult in Australia. And it has nothing to do with the fruit and veggies which are superb here but more to do with the dairy products. In South Africa, the vast majority of cheese that is produced uses a vegetarian rennet because it is apparently cheaper, here however, the opposite is the case. Almost every cheese that I have seen uses the animal type, which for those of you who do not know is made from the lining of a cow or pig's stomach. I have managed to find one Coles tasty cheesy which specifies vegetarian but I am an ardent cheese lover and one type of cheddar does not make me leap for joy. The other product I am having difficulty with is the yoghurt and margarine. For some unfathomable reason there is gelatine in the Flora and in all the yoghurts. In SA, the smaller size yoghurts don't have gelatine in although the larger sizes do to keep the fruit suspended. I have no idea why it is in the margarine. (Gelatine is made from the hooves of pigs or cows - hence 'trotters' jelly ) Anyway if there are any other vegetarians out there that can assist with makes of vegetarian cheese, yoghurt and marg, I would appreciate it very much. S Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.