jvdb: Hello from new guy!

jvdb

Hi there,

I am new to this forum and would like to introduce myself. I am looking at moving to Oz, but have to say that I have only just started looking so I don't know much about the whole process etc, and was hoping to get some pointers from this forum.

I have 5 years working experience in I.T. (degree and Oracle and Microsoft certifications), and my wife is a Teacher (also B.Sc degree and Teachers diploma). I am going through all the information on http://www.immi.gov.au, but there is so much to go through it will take me a while!

I think (and this is where I need the help please!) that we can apply for two types of visas, 136 and 457.

1) What is the difference between the two?

2) How long does the whole process take 'till you can move over from the time they receive your application?

Hope to hear from you guys soon!

Cheers,

J.

HI and welcome to our forum!!

Basically the 457 visa is a temp visa for 4months up to 4 years and the 136 is a permanent visa. 457 visa applications get processed very quickly, around 4-6 weeks and the PR visa can be anything from 6 months.

Hi J,

For a 457 visa, you get sponsored by an employer on this side. It is the quickest, cheapest way to get into Aus, and with your (both) qualifications, you should not have a problem in finding a sponsor. Can't tell you much about 136 though ;) other than that it is PR visa, and if you can get in on that, you will have a lot of privileges that you won't have on a 457.

Greetings,

Dreamy

Hi everyone,

Thanks for all the replies.

Can anyone give me some pointers on how to get an Australian employer to even consider sponsoring someone from SA? Do I just send my CV to as many Australian recruitment agencies as I can and hope for the best :lol: , or is there a more efficient way?

On that, do they have a certain format your CV/resume must be in to be accepted?