Newbie Intro

Sa2Nz2Oz

Well I am a new member to this Forum. I moved to NZ with my former partner in May 2003 to get a job offer to process my residency application. Landed in Wellington on May 10th in the afternoon after a harrowing touchdown - anybody who has flown into Wellington will know (on a slightly windy day its bad, aswell as the short runway). Felt very strange in a new country and knowing it wasnt going to be a holiday!! Lived in a place called Levin about 80km north of Wgtn (had no choice the ex's family lived there!)

Found a job in Wgtn a month later - I had to get a job in my qualification/exp to get the extra points for residency - I am an architectural technician by trade. Moved to Wgtn city, bought a car, got the accomodation and all the usual starting kit. Was not used to Wgtn's moody weather - cold,damp and windy! A year down the track my partner and I split, my brother and partner arrived to start their process but only stayed 6 months and went back to SA where they are very happy!

I met Monicque in Wgtn a week before I was going back to SA for a while via Australia and Asia for some site seeing.Monicque has been in NZ 9 years, she came over with parents and brother, her parents and brother went back after 3 years with their citizenship in hand. I was on the airplane back to NZ sooner than I thought. I got NZ citizenship in 2007. Monicque and I lived in Wgtn until Jan 2008 when we decided to make the move to Australia. On a look and see earlier we decided on the Gold Coast - it was going to be Brisbane but we prefered the GC. There was plenty of work here for me as the construction business was booming and landed a job within 3 weeks being here.