Hi I'm new here :)

kajlina

Hi everyone. I have just joined the forum a few days ago. I am a 26 yr old teacher wanting to immigrate to Aus in 2009 if at all possible. I am currently at home (had a baby in Sept 08) and would love to know if there's anyone else applying by themselves (no migration agent) to go to Aus on the 175 Visa?

thanks for all your helpful posts everyone. I ahve read a few and I have learnt sooo much!

:rolleyes:

Shakira,

You can contact Feetjie on the forum. Although she used an agent for het visa application she did lots of it herself and can possibly help by giving you an indication of job prospects in Brisbane.

Hi and welcome to the forum

There are many people who are doing the PR application without an agent. I think it is a personal choice - but if you have a straight-forward application, there is no reason you can't do it yourself - and save lots of money!

An agent won't hurry the application along. You have to do all the leg-work and collecting of info yourself anyway... and you'll certainly find a wealth of info here.

Also - read through www.immi.gov.au - loads of info there. And step-by-step instructions as well as check-lists for you to follow.

Good luck,

Leigh

thanks for the welcome :)

I would love to settle in Brisbane, as i've got a first cousin who is already there, and has kids that are my kids age :)

but ideally it would depend on where I get a job i'm sure.

Hi I am also quite new to the group. We did our own visas, tried a few agents but they don't always give you all the info that you need upfront, and you have to do all the leg work yourself anyway. The online application is quite easy to fill in. I would suggest that you get all your documents together first. Do your English test (long waiting list, we did ours in Zambia) and get your skills assested. If you don't have passports and un-abridged everything apply now - they can take upto 3 months to get.

Good luck and welcome