Another Saffir in Sydney.

Ladyfingers

Hi there and happy New Year!

I just discovered this forum, and thought it would be a good idea to join and lend a voice and another perspective to what it's like to leave SA for Australia.

I've been in Sydney since February 2008 and was in Melbourne from late February to early April on an abortive job opportunity.

I'm from Newlands in Cape Town, I'm young, single, an unrepentant Soutie (jammer ouens, my ouma was 'n egte Boer, maar ek is so engels soos Lord Kitchener). I arrived with a permanent residence visa (skills), some small savings and the shirt on my back. I was never very successful in SA, and I'm not a professionally ambitious type. I actually started the emigration process in 2002 but never had enough money to finish, so I took some time longer than the actual formal process required. It's a bugger of a process, by the way. Nervewracking, expensive, time consuming, full of paperwork. At times it was even mildly degrading: paying thousands of rand and doing four hours of testing to prove I spoke English was an insult and a chore.

My reasons were the usual ones. Crime, poor job security, weak currency, disintegrating service network, no political voice and a growing feeling of being Unwelcome In Africa. What I think is unusual about my case in that most of my peers and age group tend to move to the UK. Australia is generally the destination of young families. What motivated me to move here was the fact that I had relatives in Sydney, and my oldest friend and ex-business partner moved here himself a few years ago. His mother an Australian, conferrring him automatic citizenship.