LSD Trip in November

kiffoke

Hi all

As my first post on the site, I wanted to let you guys know that I'm coming for an LSD trip in November. I'm going to see Sydney and Melbourne and staying with friends in each city, also hoping to see some recruitment agents at the same time to get a sense of the job market. (If anyone can recommend an IT recruitment company in either of these two cities, I would be very grateful - I'm a software development project manager)

Another thing that I would like to investigate is a SIM card for my phone. Does anyone know if the networks in Australia provide a pay as you go service? Can I get a SIM card in South Africa from an Australian website?

What other recommendations can you make about things to check out on my LSD trip?

Thanks for the assistance :ilikeit:

Kiffoke

Another thing that I would like to investigate is a SIM card for my phone. Does anyone know if the networks in Australia provide a pay as you go service? Can I get a SIM card in South Africa from an Australian website?

Kiffoke

Hi there

you can buy a pay as you go sim on the airport in OZ. There are a few networks to choose from. I personally am on vodafone pay as you go but not sure how it compares to other networks but I'm very happy with them. Just make sure that your phone is not network blocked cause then no other sim will work in your phone. Have no idea if you can get a pay as you go on the net, sorry.

Lindy-Lee

:ilikeit:

Hi Koffoke,

If you send me a PM, I'll try and give you some information regarding IT job opportunities - I work in the software development industry as well.

Cheers

Ajay

There are three main mobile networks in Australia . . . Telstra (Telecom Australia), Optus (owned by Singapore Telecom) and Vodafone (partnered to Vodacom in Sth Africa).

There are a myriad of minor players in the mobile network but they all "piggy-back" off one of these three main networks.