Parent visa - any advice?

Vik51

Hello there,

I am new to the forum but having read some of the topics and responses this seems like the perfect place to voice my concerns and get some really good advice and support.

My hubby and I spent the month of May in Aus and loved it - we want to live there too.

My son is a PR and lives in Sydney, he is very keen for us to migrate. We have started the paperwork for the temp contributory parent visa which will give us a little extra time to find the full $32000. It seems we could be looking at a waiting period of +/- 2 years.

Here is our dilemma, I am 58 and the old man is 60, we are both very active and have all our bits in place. I am a Financial Manager/senior bookkeeper and hubby is a motor mechanic with many years experience and a huge amount of knowledge.

What are our chances of finding employment at our age, would we be better off staying here in SA given the fact that our RR's don't amount to much once converted and we don't have too many years left before old age really creeps up.

Has anyone in the forum made the change at a similar age, how did it turn out?

I feel we have a wonderful chance here, even if it did come a bit late in life.

Thanks in advance, V.

Hi Vik51

Firstly welcome to SaAustralia, hope you get lots of info here!

With regard to your question. Good mechanics are always required, regardless of age! It may take him a little longer to find a job, but I am pretty sure there is going to be an intelligent garage owner out there that knows a good thing when it crosses his threshold! If that does not pan out, he could become a mobile mechanic and rent out his services, you would be amazed how many of them there are in Australia.

As for being a financial manager/bookkeeper, do not think you would have too much trouble finding a job. I know, as that is what I do, and I am always keeping my eye on the job ads, I am also the same age as you.