Want to move into private sector

MiniDachsie

Hi everyone,

I have been unhappy in my current job type ever since I moved into it (academic research) and it's not helping with my experience in Australia - unhappiness in your work just escalates your homesickness, etc. So, I'm trying to figure out what and where I could go that would be better, pay better and hopefully change my view of staying in Oz. In SA my main experience was in lecturing Statistics/Mathematics to mainly first year students. In Oz I cant' do that as I don't have a Phd and I really don't want to do one. So, in Oz I've been doing mainly health related research working as a research assistant and currently my job title is "biostatistician - research fellow". I have a Masters degree in Statistics, with Mathematics as a major in my third year as well. I also have a Higher diploma in education with one year mathematics teacher experience in SA - I do have VIT registration (Victorian Institute of Teaching).

I've been thinking of doing one of three things:

1. moving into private sector

2. getting a maths teaching job

3. getting government/public service job

Difficulties:

1. I have no commercial experience and this is making it difficult to move into private sector. I do think I have a skill set (analytical, numerical, etc) that would be of use, but just not sure where would be a good fit. Also, I think since I don't have that commercial experience, I don't have a good chance to get a job just applying for it, but rather through networking/contacts.