Becoming a Chartered Accountant

candz

Hi All,

I am seeking some advice on how I will go about on becoming a CA in Aus.

I am are currently working in the field of IT(programming), after completing a BSC in IT and Finance. I have been working for two years.

In the meantime I have been completing a BCOM Accounting degree part time, and am extremely dedicated to become a CA. I will be in my final year next year, I do not want to do honours as I want to get to Aus as soon as possible, and after reading this blog, I have gathered it will be the best thing.

I have phoned many of the accounting firms in Aus and they will only consider my application if I am "an international student which has completed two years of tertiary education at one of the Australian Universities" or "am a resident".

I would have to start with a Graduate programme, even though I am an "experienced professional in IT" I am a grad in Accounting.

I would like to start my Independent visa application, and considering the fact that I am only 23 years old I don't have a huge amount of cash, I don't want to go through this whole process and get to Aus and not be able to become a CA, as I doubt I will be able to study in Aus(due to financial reasons).

I know that I will have to complete studies in Australian Tax and Law, but found out from fellow bloggers(really helpful - thank you) that I can do this through Open Uni at a cost of about R12 500 (which im sure is a lot cheaper than doing it in Aus).

I have researched the whole application process and I understand all the costs involved, I have saved up and am ready to go through the process.

I do not want to get to Aus and work in IT, as I want to start the process of becoming a CA ASAP.

So after my long explanation my questions:

• Is anyone in the same situation as me?
  • If I complete the courses here through correspondence will I be accepted even though is a 14 week course and not 2years as the requirements state?