SA Legal Qualification

Ingrid

Can anyone advise me on the following:

I am an admitted attorney (conveyancer, B Soc Science LLB)) and realise that it will be impossible to enter Oz being assessed as an "Oz Legal Practitioner ", without having completed the additional courses etc . I would do the necessary once I arrive.

A Migration agent suggested that I "down-scale" my application to a "policy and planning manager".

Can anyone give me advice on the merits of doing this. I would then apply under the SIR Visa (S Australia), after being assessed on the "lower" qualification.

thank you!

:huh:

Ingrid, :blush:

All I can say to you is that over here people don't care if you are the local politician or driving the garbage truck. They all show up at the same social functions and they all chat together. There is not much of a status in whatever type of job you do. As long as you are willing to accept the "lowering" in stature, I assure you they won't mind.

In the end I suppose it depends on how badly you want to be here. If you are positive about the whole thing, and willing to accept the challenge, you will make a great succes of it. :ilikeit:

If I were you, I think I would do it. It would be a much better choice than living in constant fear.

Greetings,

Dreamy

Hi Ingrid

What you describe is someone advising you to 'downplay' your career classification/title in order to be able to go to Oz as soon as possible (on the SIR visa - which is a regional, provisional (i.e. temporary) visa).

Whether or not that is acceptable to you depends on what your final goal is in terms of Oz. Do you want to live there permanently eventually? What are your circumstances, for instance; are you emigrating on your own or with your spouse/partner?