Hello and Help, help, Help?

trailrunner

Hi all

After much deliberation we have decided to take the plunge before it gets too late. I am turning 45 next year and need to do this now or never. I will require lots of advice and assistance as there are a few options open to me and I am still, despite much reading on this forum, somewhat confused. Here is a brief profile so please help if you can?

I graduated from Stellenbosch in 2007 with a Masters in Sustainable Development after studying at UCT for three years and gaining a degree in Environmental and Geographic science in 2005. Although I have never actually earned a living in either of these fields I have worked closely with developmental issues and a large pilot project that formed the basis of my thesis. I have also engaged deeply with Environmental Impact Assessments but again not specifically as an employee in this field. Although a late developer (as you can tell from the mature age at which I decided to study) I have worked as a salesman and in marketing in various forms over sixteen years before deciding to study. Due to the situation in South Africa, BEE and my status (aged, white male) I, despite several interventions, have been understandably sidelined and this is the main motivation for leaving. I currently have three children in Adelaide who are permanent residents and who would gladly sponsor me if I put the money up. I am currently married and the application would include only my wife and myself.

My questions are as follows:

Which would be the most practical visa to apply for a 143 contributory parent which would set me back about $42 000 (a small fortune for me right now, but just affordable) but I would get PR on visa approval or the 475 which seems to be the most popular route but a bit more of a mission and far more reasonable?