Needing Brisbane Moms!

KirstyP

Hi Guys! We are due to arrive in Brisbane early October.... I feel like there is so much to do between now and then :blush:

I am a secondary school English teacher, my application to the Queensland Teaching College is going in Monday 1 September - thats if i can get my police clearance by then :ilikeit: It will take 3 months for them to process the apllication :ilikeit:

I am hoping to get a post from one Jan 2009. The problem is I have a 15 month old son.... any suggestions regarding nursery school? Which ones are good? In which areas? We have been following the high school post re COCC and are thinking Carindale and Mansfield might be the areas for us? My husband will be working in the CBD. How long is the commute for these areas? Traffic?

Am also wondering if you guys have a moms group that meets in the mornings or afternoons for a chat?

Lastly, GYM!!!! is there one in these areas? with a kiddies supervised play area? I am desperate to get back into gym!

PS any recommendations on a good evangelical/charismatic/non-denomonational church in these areas?

Edited by KirstyP

I answered a bit of Kristy's question here www.saaustralia.org/index.php?showtopic=17532

I've met a few of COC's teachers and they are lovely people!

Oh, with regards to the traveling....<_<

I would not drive into Brisbane CBD for various reasons. Parking is frightfully expensive, and if your employer supplies this, you still need to get there, the traffic really jams at peek hour. Once the North/South tunnel is finished, this should improve!