sandy: been in UK 7 years and still not quite settled!

sandy

Hi! Over the last few days I have become addicted to these SA-OZ forum sites! This one is GREAT!I am trying to get opinions on moving from the UK to OZ. WE have been here for 7 years and still feel vaguely unsettled despite having a lovely home near National Trust forest, a supportive New Frontiers Church family and having made friends through mother and toddler groups etc. My 4 year old is due to start school here on Monday :unsure:

I grew up in Cape Town and I miss....so much but especially beachy times and long for that for my kids!

The lifestyle here is different and the people are kind, but different socially. What to do?

Every winter we start looking on the internet, but I've never written on forums before. I would like to put this to bed once and for all and get on with my life...I just don't know what would be best.

Any opinions would be welcome :blush:

Hi Sandy - my brother & his wife live in Kent, they moved there 7 years ago from Gauteng. They have a 2-and-a-half year old son at playgroup & own a nice house & new cars. They have made some friends & have good jobs, but also can't quite fit in there. They spend all their time with SA expats, & the whole move has really taken a toll on their marriage. Every Winter they say they can't face another one. Now they are desperate to move to Australia and it's consuming them.

Remember we live 'mostly in our heads' though. Maybe the fact that your baby is entering a new phase is making you question your choices and giving you that sense of getting older (call it maturity :unsure: ). Also, Winter is on the way & that's not much fun.

Why don't you try a move if you're unhappy? Or at least plan a nice long holiday and see what you think of Australia. We only live once, and if you're not enjoying yourself I say change it, but do it for the right reasons.

I hope you get lots of responses and wish you the very best with your decisions. xx Bronwyn