Why don't I get a reply?

engel81

I am a qualified high school English teacher. In NSW you have to do an induction course with the Dept. of Education before you can start wokring as a teacher - this course is scheduled for 1 September, so as I don't want to sit at home I decided to apply for some PA/Admin jobs.

(I have more than 2 years experience in being a PA for a director in the UK)

I have sent out my CV to 16 different recruitment agencies and NO word. I am very confident that my CV and cover letter is 100 % correct, but can't understand why I am not getting any responses.

Can anyone help me? Any advice?

Hi,

I assume that you're currently in NSW, first of all (not clear from your profile?)

Recruiters will only place people that they believe are 'low' risk (they generally offer a money back guarantee if the candidate leaves within 3 months), so if they think that you are using a PA role as a stepping stone while waiting for the "right" job, then they'll pay no attention to you. Of course, none of this is relevant if you are applying for temp jobs. If that's the case, then it may be that they want someone who is a 'career' PA, so that they can step in and run straight away, instead of needing an adjustment time.

In Australia, PA / Executive Assistant roles are a little more revered than they are in SA, so they tend to be a bit more choosy about these than they are about, say, general office administrative workers, so maybe you can consider some alternative roles to fulfil while waiting for your licence to teach?

Cheers

Ajay

• 1 year later...

I see this is an old post, but the question is relevant. I applied for a job via a recruitment agency recently, and the person there accidentally replied to me instead of forwarding the email to her colleague - so I got the whole truth!!!