working in government

AllisonW

Hi all,

I am currently a senior manager in gov in SA and really enjoy the work (Just i know it is strange! No, i dont wear grey every day!!!). I would like to return to this environment when we arrive in Australia, even if it takes me a while. Are there any south africans working within government agencies? What has been the response of colleagues? Where you well recieved? We are going over on a PR.

Love to hear from all you fellow beaurocrats!!!!

Allison

Hi Alison

We moved over on a PR just over 2 years ago. Most Government agencies you have to be a Citizen to be able to work for them. If you look at the www.immi.gov.au website and the Citizenship test that is one of the + points of becoming a citizen.

However - I'm a Paramedic and i can apply on a PR to work for them. My husband is currently busy with application to the Air force. They allow PR but you have to be in the process of becoming a Citizen - and then there are rules from the South African government that you have to renounce your SA citizenship

We arrived here when you only needed 2 years before applying for Citizenship, Im not sure how it will work now with you guys that have to wait 4 years.

All the best hope someone can shed more light.

Hi

Most federal government agencies need you to be a citizen before you can work for them. State government should be easier on PR, though. Local government is probably the easiest to get into, if you're on PR or work visa.

I work in local government - only been here about 6 weeks, but I've found it pretty good so far. Every job has challenges and you sometimes do make comparisons to how you used to do your job in SA....but I think that the work ethic we bring (and I must add that a lot of immigrants from different countries seem to share a similar work ethic) stands us in very good stead!