Nursing agencies

Markus&Susan

We are wanting to move from SA to Aus. I am a midwife and want to work in this field when over there. Which agencies have the best repuation for assisting nurses and midwives to get over? Which should I avoid? I hadn't nursed in 8 years but have been back for a month now and am getting mixed responses to my CV. Any advice out there?

Hi Susan,

Firstly welcome to the forum and good luck in future endevours.I too am a midwife and also had a break of 10 years then went back doing sessions last August.

Personally I would contact the Australian Nursing Council first to establish your eligibility to practice.Each state has different rules regarding registration requirements so if you know where you want to settle then that will also help.There are quit a few post about nursing,just type nursing in the search topic box top right.

Not sure what stage you are at in the proccess but it may be advisable to book a IELTS as there is a backlog at the british council of around 4-5 months.You would also possibly need a verification of your registration from SANC which costs R500 and has to go straight to registering authority in Aus and not to you.Some councils also require copies in english of your course transcripts which you can get from your training establishment.

Personally I have not contacted any agencies as yet because I am busy with above and wanted to get my ducks in a row but if you just google search "nursing agencies" then heeps will come up.also www.careerone.com.au (I think thats right ) would also give you some insight.

Hope this helps or maybe you knew all this already and I am waffling !

Cheers Shirls

Hi Susan,

Prepare yourself for a lenghty process.

There are several issues but the most important one is that you must have worked a minimum of 20 hours per week for the past year.

This was the starting requirement for us when my wife started the process,16 months ago.