Harry: saying hi and good luck!

Harry

Hi there!

I think the folks from SACanada will probably fall on the floor and hold their heads, when they realise I have discovered SAAustralia. :)

We left SA as a family in middle 2000, to settle in Deep Cove, a village-suburb of Vancouver, BC in Canada. I'm a high tech kinda person, working for a large American high tech company that everyone knows by name. I handle patents for a living, as well as the attorneys that tend to come with that job. My wife has set herself up with her own consulting business, as part of which she renders Project Management Services and also some Intellectual Property services.

Our son is at University here, studying in the business direction. My mother lives with us and loves her garden and her kitchen. She has adapted very well to the neighbourhood and everyone here loves her....she's the block-granny, so to speak.

For the first three years I slaved on the house, because it is an old house and I had to fix it. One learns a lot in that process. That kind of stuff is very different in North america from SA or Australia.

At this point we consider ourselves settled, and have already voted in three different elections as citizens. We're deeply in love with our village of Deep cove, and I use the view through our bedroom window as my avatar.

I'd be happy to share experience in the matter of emigration from SA. I know nothing about kangaroos, wallabies, emus, koalas or wombats. In fact, I do not think I have ever seen a marsupial. Bears, coyotes, deer and raccons I can tell you a lot about, though. We have them in the yard.

I guess I could call myself an amateur photographer and will try to post some pictures now and then.

For now, I post the picture through the window in early December 2005.

5-11-30winter.jpg

As much as Harry thinks we will probably

fall on the floor and hold their heads