Finding Employer Sponsors

Wataboyki

We have decided to move from South Africa to Australia, due to recent developments here. Since I will soon turn 45, I have been advised to follow the "employer sponsored" route.

In the last month I have extensively tried to find potential "Employer Sponsors", but till date without positive response.

I am a mechanical engineer with extensive automotive industry experience (strategic supplier selection/development, technology transfer, project management, supplier development and management in terms of quality, cost and delivery performance) and aerospace/military (technology management, product development, engineering management). The Oz-automotive industry is in decline, and the aerospace industry (usually) requires security clearances.

The best route seems to be to use my transferable skills in the mining industry. So far I have had a negative response as soon as I mention that I do not have mining experience.

Can anyone assist?

Wataboyki.

Hi

The route I went is to phone one of the ads on WWW.SEEK.COM .AU .I got a sponsor but you can pm me then I will give my details so you can contact me.

Don't stop looking.

Alex

I think the auto industry is much like RSA, it has it's ups and downs. The only really bad news I have heard is that Mitsubishi is pulling out. But they were on around 100 units a day. The auto industry seems to focus most of the plants around Adelaide and Melbourne. Melbourne being the bigger of the two with both GM and Ford in Geelong. I haven't heard of too many sponsorships in the auto industries.

I am busy with a PR visa application and then will head for Adelaide, also in the auto industries. My expertise is in the area of quality assurance, auditingand general TS 16949 requirements.

Good luck with your search, I certainly hope you find what you are looking for.

K&B

Welcome to the forum! All the best for the journey that lies ahead!!!