Medicals for children - Mantoux test for 2 to 11 year old

GOOD2GO

I just found out from HatMed that all children (2 - 11) need to have the Mantoux test done as from 20 November 2015.

This was communicated to them through a letter from Australia as they are a registered Panel Physician.

This involves an injection (48 to 72 hours before the medical examination) of 5 tuberculin units (TU) purified protein derivative (PPD) intradermally (between the layers of dermis).

If the body is infected with TB you will have a swelling reaction in the area according to the severity of the infection.

If negative your body should "naturally" dispose of the substance.

Please see this links for more detail ... I have no medical knowledge except for what I read ... so please read for yourself.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantoux_test

http://www.healthline.com/health/ppd-skin-test#Overview1

Our medicals are booked for 13 November 2015 ... I don't want to put my kids through that stress.

Edited by GOOD2GO

Thanks for the heads up. we will have to try and book the medicals before the 20th then.

From what I've seen in my very short look, it doesn't look very pleasant. I also want to know if it would leave a mark? Can't they test it some other way?

From what I've seen in my very short look, it doesn't look very pleasant. I also want to know if it would leave a mark? Can't they test it some other way?

RedPanda,

It doesn't leave a mark like the BCG and is quickest, cheapest and least invasive way to test fo TB. My wife had one when she went to live in Germany at 17.

The alternative is to expose children to x-rays, then to look for scaring of the lungs, which often, like in our case will need to be referred to a Dr. in Australia if there are any anomalies, even if you don't have TB. This takes time and money, so this test is the quickest and most cost effective way of checking for TB.